Guest Reviews

April 7th, 2016 - April 12th, 2016

“What a magical place! We have loved every moment - by the beach, in the pool, eating fantastic curry in the house, seeing a turtle lay her eggs on the beach and visit rock temples. Pure bliss.”

Laura D, Sri Lanka

February 6th, 2016 - February 13th, 2016

“We had a fabulous stay in this beautiful villa. It has been a very peaceful stay even with three young sons (8,6 & 6) who have loved the wildlife here, the food, the pool and especially playing cricket with "the Uncles." We went walking around the garden and saw peacocks, cranes, various other birds and and the adorable puppies from next door. Thamal and his team have all been amazing and chefs food is delicious, especially the pineapple curry, fish curry & Sri Lankan breakfasts. Thank you for a delightful stay and as we say in Hong "Kung Hai Fat Choi." - all the best for you all in the year of the monkey.”

Ann S, Hong Kong

January 28th, 2016 - January 31st, 2016

“We were here to celebrate our dear friends birthday. Moving from Galle Fort to Ocean's Edge was such a treat, from the hustle and bustle of Galle Fort to the magnificent Indian Ocean where beautiful coconut trees and beautiful beaches with the pounding of waves made this a surreal experience. Thanks to Thamal and his team. Loved Sri Lanka food particularly the poppadoms. Our holiday was made by the champagne which we manage to get on the way here for our sunset drinks. A most unspoiled and gorgeous place. Thank you.”

Janet N, Australia

January 15th, 2016 - January 21st, 2016

“We had the luxurious pleasure to stay at Ocean's Edge for almost a week. Watching whales in the sunrise, enjoying the awesome wildlife in the area as well as the local hospitality has made this stay an almost dreamy, film life experience. We will surely miss everything this place has to offer, the food, the beach, the staff, the pool, the monkeys, the extraordinary beautiful view, the sound of the waves and of course the incredibly charming house. It has been a peerless and delightful stay which we will never forget. We hope to come back.”

Anne-Marie Lynge Esbensen E, Denmark

December 27th, 2015 - January 3rd, 2016

“We've been enjoying life at Ocean's Edge for a few days now. We have to leave tomorrow 🙁 All the staff have been wonderful and accommodating. Our cooking lesson was fun. For the foolish two that decided to go on a romantic stroll up the beach instead of learning a couple of local recipes and techniques - we will hold the secret ingredients back. Just kidding. We will share with them. Obviously one can't complain about the wonderful beach out front. The villa is also large enough that we could all enjoy privacy. We could have melted with the pool!! Shockingly warm weather. We brought in the new year on the beach with a fire. Great fun. There might have been a couple of fireworks too. All possible mess cleaned up, so it will remain only a rumour. To guests have fun and enjoy the secluded area. Do have the eggplant curry!!”

John H, Australia

December 20th, 2015 - December 27th, 2015

“We had a great stay. Thamel and the team could NOT have been more lovely - attentive, kind, made the children feel totally welcome. The food was delicious, and it was a fantastic place to spend Christmas! The beach is gorgeous and the pool was lovely. We spent hours in them both. A huge thanks to the staff. They made our stay so wonderful! We are so grateful for their kindness and attention! The BBQ was fantastic. The bird life was extraordinary and loved walking and seeing the beach and birds.”

Eric S, Singapore

April 10th, 2015 - April 14th, 2015

“Our stay at Oceans Edge was a truly amazing experience. The villa is exquisite and the staff exceptional in attending to our needs. Whilst the location is a little remote it was great to walk along a very long stretch of beach and hardly see anyone. As we had a driver we could still visit different villages, beaches along the coast and go turtle watching. It also allowed us to truly relax after travelling around Sri Lanka for the previous 10 days.”

Jennie Raphael, Australia

December 24th, 2014 - January 3rd, 2015

“Absolutely perfect and staff was a pure miracle. We had the best 10 days of the year. If a bad point had to be said it is the 4 to 5 hours car transfer from Colombo airport... very long. I recommend Helicopter (but they don't fly after 5PM).”

Pablo D, Belgium

December 28th, 2012 - January 11th, 2013

“Villa was really lovely and in a fabulous setting looking out onto the beach which was idyllic. Staff very friendly and helpful they organised all our trips for us very efficiently. The cook did a wonderful job feeding us all. For a nice relaxing holiday would highly recommend the villa”

Mary Hamilton, United Kingdom

August 4th, 2012 - August 18th, 2012

“Close to the beach, very private and extended with nobody.Pool sheltered from the wind. Possible to buy lobsters and fish directly to the fishers (less than 500 meters from the villa). Very attentive staff. Excellent follow up of our requests from VillaNovo. ”

CC

February 11th, 2012 - February 25th, 2012

“We really enjoyed our stay at the Villa, and had 14 wonderful days there. The garden, beach and the ocean was like in a dream. We spent the days there in the sun, taking long walks on the beach and swimming (playing) in the ocean waves. The staff was really helpful and the food delicious. We can definitely recommend this place if you want a relaxing and peaceful vacation. And we will for sure return to the villa some other time.”

Per Anders Lindell, Sweden

October 30th, 2011 - November 4th, 2011

“This villa is magnificent. It is situated on a paradisiac and deserted beach). The staff is very attentive to our demands(requests), very discreet but always available. All the meals were delicious.”

corinne michard, France

July 27th, 2011 - August 6th, 2011

“The villa is all that it promises. It is wonderfully built, set in an enormous garden right at the beach. The garden, full of coconut trees is a place to wander around safely. Our children,15 and 11, enjoyed the visits of the very shy monkeys and the big lizards around. We even had regular visitors from 6 little bunnies that came out of their hiding during the day. The large pool is cleaned three time s a day and allows for a relaxed afternoon with sandwiches and fresh coconut juice. To the front the gate opens to a sand beach of several kilometers. It is an empty beach, paradise.....a beach you might see on a postcard and wonder "where do those beaches actually exist?" The beaches are empty , and we mean empty. Very few fishermen and virtually not one tourist. Fantastic....if this is what you are looking for. The service at the house requires a special mention and praise. The entire staff is friendly, certainly has received excellent training in what western visitors expect from a stay at a luxury villa and are eager to help at any time. The bed linen is changed daily, the house kept clean at all times. Snacks during the day for the kids are prepared and presented wonderfully. For dinner the cook is as versatile as a 3 star chef. Our culinary journey through Sri Lankan food was amazing. Thank you again. Having said this, the staff is also quite capable to produce excellent western food. IN summary the place is what it promises. the drive from Dickwella airport is about 20 min. If you are looking for this romantic, secluded hideaway for you and your family or some good friends, where you can read a book, listen to the sound of the waves and enjoy long walks on beautiful long sand beaches.....look no further. If you are looking for a more social holiday with many attractions in close proximity and a beach full of tourists, music and snack bars......move on. The ONLY downside perhaps is that the sea is a bit rough, especially if you have children that want to swim in the sea. Although we entered the water there are clear challenges for children. Having said this, many beaches in Sri Lanka have this issue and you do have a great clean pool as an alternative. WE recommend the place fully and hopefully will be back some day.”

Marc Sinclair, United Arab Emirates

December 27th, 2010 - January 2nd, 2011

“The villa is an absolute dream, the staff treated us like royalty and we revelled in the long sandy beaches for walks with the knowledge that there would be a cold beer or a gin and tonic waiting for us to cool us down upon our return. Well worth the drive from the airport. Good location for turtle watching in Rekawa and Whale Watching in Marissa and if you need to see anymore animals then Yala national Park is a short drive away for the leopards and Elephants. Absolute bliss.”

Louise York, Singapore

Guest Reviews

  • April 7th, 2016 - April 12th, 2016

    What a magical place! We have loved every moment - by the beach, in the pool, eating fantastic curry in the house, seeing a turtle lay her eggs on the beach and visit rock temples. Pure bliss.
    Laura D, Sri Lanka

  • February 6th, 2016 - February 13th, 2016

    We had a fabulous stay in this beautiful villa. It has been a very peaceful stay even with three young sons (8,6 & 6) who have loved the wildlife here, the food, the pool and especially playing cricket with "the Uncles." We went walking around the garden and saw peacocks, cranes, various other birds and and the adorable puppies from next door. Thamal and his team have all been amazing and chefs food is delicious, especially the pineapple curry, fish curry & Sri Lankan breakfasts. Thank you for a delightful stay and as we say in Hong "Kung Hai Fat Choi." - all the best for you all in the year of the monkey.
    Ann S, Hong Kong

  • January 28th, 2016 - January 31st, 2016

    We were here to celebrate our dear friends birthday. Moving from Galle Fort to Ocean's Edge was such a treat, from the hustle and bustle of Galle Fort to the magnificent Indian Ocean where beautiful coconut trees and beautiful beaches with the pounding of waves made this a surreal experience. Thanks to Thamal and his team. Loved Sri Lanka food particularly the poppadoms. Our holiday was made by the champagne which we manage to get on the way here for our sunset drinks. A most unspoiled and gorgeous place. Thank you.
    Janet N, Australia

  • January 15th, 2016 - January 21st, 2016

    We had the luxurious pleasure to stay at Ocean's Edge for almost a week. Watching whales in the sunrise, enjoying the awesome wildlife in the area as well as the local hospitality has made this stay an almost dreamy, film life experience. We will surely miss everything this place has to offer, the food, the beach, the staff, the pool, the monkeys, the extraordinary beautiful view, the sound of the waves and of course the incredibly charming house. It has been a peerless and delightful stay which we will never forget. We hope to come back.
    Anne-Marie Lynge Esbensen E, Denmark

  • December 27th, 2015 - January 3rd, 2016

    We've been enjoying life at Ocean's Edge for a few days now. We have to leave tomorrow :( All the staff have been wonderful and accommodating. Our cooking lesson was fun. For the foolish two that decided to go on a romantic stroll up the beach instead of learning a couple of local recipes and techniques - we will hold the secret ingredients back. Just kidding. We will share with them. Obviously one can't complain about the wonderful beach out front. The villa is also large enough that we could all enjoy privacy. We could have melted with the pool!! Shockingly warm weather. We brought in the new year on the beach with a fire. Great fun. There might have been a couple of fireworks too. All possible mess cleaned up, so it will remain only a rumour. To guests have fun and enjoy the secluded area. Do have the eggplant curry!!
    John H, Australia

  • December 20th, 2015 - December 27th, 2015

    We had a great stay. Thamel and the team could NOT have been more lovely - attentive, kind, made the children feel totally welcome. The food was delicious, and it was a fantastic place to spend Christmas! The beach is gorgeous and the pool was lovely. We spent hours in them both. A huge thanks to the staff. They made our stay so wonderful! We are so grateful for their kindness and attention! The BBQ was fantastic. The bird life was extraordinary and loved walking and seeing the beach and birds.
    Eric S, Singapore

  • April 10th, 2015 - April 14th, 2015

    Our stay at Oceans Edge was a truly amazing experience. The villa is exquisite and the staff exceptional in attending to our needs. Whilst the location is a little remote it was great to walk along a very long stretch of beach and hardly see anyone. As we had a driver we could still visit different villages, beaches along the coast and go turtle watching. It also allowed us to truly relax after travelling around Sri Lanka for the previous 10 days.
    Jennie Raphael, Australia

  • December 24th, 2014 - January 3rd, 2015

    Absolutely perfect and staff was a pure miracle. We had the best 10 days of the year. If a bad point had to be said it is the 4 to 5 hours car transfer from Colombo airport... very long. I recommend Helicopter (but they don't fly after 5PM).
    Pablo D, Belgium

See more reviews on Trip Advisor
Villa Ocean's Edge – Tangalle 4 bedroom beachfront villa, Sri Lanka Elite Havens
Private, peaceful and set in picturesque grounds, Ocean’s Edge is a spectacular four-bedroom villa which, as its name suggests, sits within a whisper of the Indian Ocean on Sri Lanka’s dramatic southern coastline near Tangalle.  Our villa is well located for exploring the region’s natural attractions; the rugged beaches are famed for nesting marine turtles whilst Kalametiya Bird Sanctuary, and wildlife-rich Bundala, Yala and Uda Walawe national parks, are all within reach.

Ocean’s Edge was built in 2004, however its elegant architecture and antique furnishings gracefully recount the past.  Soaring ceilings, gentle archways and deep verandas wrapping around the villa on two levels mimic the iconic designs of the Dutch colonialists in Ceylon.  Gentle breezes infiltrate and cool the plentiful living and dining areas, which are beautifully positioned for admiring the views.

Home to four spacious air-conditioned bedrooms, each enjoying a spectacular view of either the garden or sea, Ocean’s Edge is also equipped with a fully serviced kitchen, an air-conditioned TV Room and a T-shaped swimming pool for escaping the heat of the day. And to look after your every whim is our dedicated staff team, including a cook, two houseboys, gardeners and security.

Dancing parrots, waltzing butterflies and skydiving kingfishers animate our 23-acre garden.  This idyllic seclusion is a paradise for escapists, nature lovers, groups of friends and families in search of complete rest and relaxation.  With neighbouring homes few and far between in this corner of the island, the villa is entirely private and even a walk along the shell-scattered, wave-sloshed beach at sunset is unlikely to result in anybody intruding on your peace.